Voyageur Parkour in Manitoba

Aitkens Lake Wilderness Lodge. Credit: Canadian Tourism Commission

Aikens Lake Wilderness Lodge. Credit: Canadian Tourism Commission

I’m in the middle of our country (Aikens Lake , in Eastern Manitoba to be exact) landing a boat on a rocky shore channeling my inner Courier de Bois—if I was any more Canadian I’d be the recipient of multiple Heritage grants. From the moment my boat touches the rocky shore, I’m in motion: leaping over the gunnels, scrambling up the granite slope, hustling down a barely-there wilderness trail, zigzagging around windfall and basically booking it toward the body of water that lies at the other end of this historic fur trade portage. My journey to Canada’s past began …

Continue reading this article here. 

Leave a Reply

